Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:17 a.m. - 2002-02-03
Ms Leslie Starts a Library
Yesterday was a fun day. I went with Ann for a quick bite of breakfast and then we raced around to various yard sales looking for books to sell online. The last time we did this, it was hard to get ahead of her to the books. She gets tickled by the fact that Whenever I'm in a new place, or confused or stressed out, I always go to the right. She, on the other hand looks around and sees the books and just goes over there. By the time I find myself, she is already happily extracting all the salable books out of the stack and I am left looking over her shoulder. Not this time though. Oh, I still went ot the right. I can't help it. But when I saw books, I just marched over to them and bought them all. That tickled her even more.. seeing me like some kind of bibliomaniac, grabbing books off the shelf and stacking them into impossible to carry stacks.

Now I've got all these books, I am going to have to sell them. Wish me luck. MOst of them are fiction. I have no idea whether anyone wants them.

I also heard from Celena, a wonderful person I've never met. She's the daughter of one of the veterans from the Comabat Veterans of the 101st Airborne group. The first person in my life ever to send me a card for veteran's day. It made me cry.I suppose it was important because it took some effort on her part to remember, and then to take action in sending it to me. It made me feel not forgotten.

If there is a veteran in your life, you can make a big difference if you care to. Just do the same as Celena did. Send a card and tell her or him that you remember.

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!