Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:45 a.m. - 2002-01-26
Ms Leslie touches the hem of polite society
Already predisposed to hate it, I dragged myself out of the house and drove the short distance down the street to the meeting. I had tried to imagine who would be going to a noon meeting of weight watchers and had decided that it would most likely be housewives, dressed very casually, and so with Ann's encouragment, I had dressed in my signature denim pants and a simple top.

When I got to the meeting, the first thing I noticed was that these were mostly women who were at work and attending WW on their lunch hour. So I was sadly underdressed for the meeting.

Strike One

Honestly, I wanted to leave right then, but I'd said I would go and so I must. WHen Iwent inside, even though I had come early, I found a long line of women waiting to pay their fees and weigh in. As I could find no applications available anywhere else, I joined the end of the line. I suppose whie I waited in line with the other women, I might have had an opportunity to strike up or join a conversation, but honestly, I was feeling conspicuous and dowdy, so I just stood quietly, waiting my turn at the window. Maybe once I got checked in and seated, I could talk to one of my neighbors. In the meantime, the women around me just gently ignored me, as they would have any other new person.

WHen I got to the window and asked for an application, the lady gave me one to fill out. I had to step out of line and fill in the short form and then... rejoin the end of the line. In the meanwhile, all of the chairs were being filled. Even though I had come early, I would be one of the last women to be seated. As a matter of fact, bythe time I was finished, the meeting had just begun. No time for chit chat and no place to sit, except for a piano bench behind and to the side of the rest of the group. I had accidentally (really) banished myself to my traditional position on the fringes of the group.

Strike two

Once the meeting was over, the majority of the women dashed for the door. Their lunch hours were over. The few of us who were new were asked to gather to the front for our beginners' instruction. My seat was in the second (and last) row and on the end. I was invisible to all but the instructor. Again, no time for socializing.. only for listening. By the time we were finished, I was feeling uncomfortable enough that I was more than ready to leave.

But I did find the WW plan for losing weight to be interesting. I had already bought the books when I signed up. I think it might be worth trying for a week or two more.

So, with two strikes already against it, I plan to go back next week. I'll dress more appropriately, and I'll get there even earlier, so I can choose a seat in the midst of the group. Perhaps as I attend a few more sessions, some of the others will begin finding me familiar and we can talk. Even before that, I hope I can commit to not accepting being politely ignored. I hope I can find the right time to turn to my neighbor and ask a question. I don't have to accept being invisible.

Did I enjoy it? No. It was uncomfortable. But it WAS good for me. I learned fom it, enough to be better prepared to succeed next time. Let'e giveit another try.

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!