Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:57 a.m. - Monday, Feb. 16, 2004
Ms Leslie smashes the late thanks record

Dear B,B & D;

With this note, as far as I know, I�m smashing all the records for late thank-you notes from uninvited and unknown guests at an American Christmas party� or possibly any party worldwide.

I�m doing it, not for the glory, nor for a place in history, but simply because it�s in my nature. I am nothing more than an unmannered heathen in sensible shoes and a good bra. Please forgive me.

In all honesty, I didn�t wait until nearly the end of January to start feeling grateful for your hospitality at the early Christmas party. I was grateful the minute I arrived. Everyone made me feel welcome, I made some new friends, and I marveled at the excesses of food you guys laid out. Heck, one of my new friends, M even introduced me to a straight guy, but I couldn�t keep seeing him because he�s doing two years house arrest and can�t take me to dinner. I mean, I liked the idea that I would always know where to find him, but the fact is, he wasn�t that good of a cook and I�ll be hang-danged if I�ll eat his cooking and watch DVD�s on his couch for two long years.

Anyway, back to the party. If I had an iota of class, I would have had my thank you note written on a nice card with lilacs on the cover, and maybe a fruit basket on your doorstep the very next day. Sadly, I don�t have that much class, I have class just barely sufficient to keep myself from dishing up thirds from the buffet and not quite sufficient to restrain myself from taking a plate of BBQ ribs home with me to be devoured in private.

So all in all, when we look at the big picture, the wonder isn�t that I�m sending a thank you note on plain paper a month and a half late; The wonder is that I�m finally giving in to my conscience and sending one at all.

I�ll be astonished if you ever invite me back again, but I hope you do. I really did have a great time with great people, and I really do appreciate the way you just gave me a hug and welcomed me into your home.

Thank You.

4 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!