Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:47 p.m. - Thursday, Aug. 28, 2003
Ms Leslie checks in
It�s true. I haven�t been writing for the last few weeks. I miss it. I miss YOU. Yet I can�t seem to drag myself into the word program to tap out a few sentiments. But here I am right now, so let me write an update.

1. A close friend and frequent visitor had a seizure earlier this month. She was kept in the hospital for 11 days and then released with a diagnosis of lung cancer. The cancer, unfortunately has spread to her brain, leaving her with two tumors on her lung and three in her brain. She began radiation treatments on the day before I left to visit my family in California. Her last treatment was today and they finally just yesterday told her that she can expect to live less than a year. Between the nausea and fatigue from the medications and radiation and the emotional strain of her confrontation with mortality, she�s needed some help and support. I find my thoughts are with her quite a bit lately.

2. In the meantime, I did go to California for a week to give my family a chance to see the new face. It wasn�t an exciting trip but it sure was a well-fed one. I outgrew the clothes I took with me before I could even wear them. My mom, after twenty three years in the same house in southern California has decided to move back to Utah. On the night before I left to come home to Mississippi, I watched as she signed a listing agreement with an eager young agent, thus insuring that I have seen that house for the last time� assuning I don�t end up having to go back to CA and help mind my wheelchair-bound stepfather and pack for the move.

My dancing is stopped for now. I�m having a hard time finding out how to fit it in. My feelings too are on hold, I guess. There are a lot of them in connections with the visit and the impending struggle for my friend. I�m probably not good enough yet to just let them run free, you know?

Later, perhaps

9 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!