Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:00 a.m. - Wednesday, Dec. 18, 2002
My Xmas Present

See what Cosmicrayola sent me for Christmas? It's the Thai verson, I guess, of the spirit of Christmas. In fact, that's the name of the piece; "The Christmas Spirit". I, personally, have never seen anything like it. It's festive and happy... even the little monkey/baby/ghost on top of his head are smiling. And yet I find it somehow disturbing. It's not a spirit at all. It's an imp. An imp in Thai slippers. He holds his left hand open in a universal gesture of peace and friendship, but in his right, he holds a golden staff that bears a remarkable similarity to a war club. Imps are like that. Cute.. sometimes even cuddly, but theh have a tendency towards mischief that can be downright damaging.

What this has to dowith Christmas I really don't know. What I do know is that this is the new standard image of Christmas for me. I may never have a tree, or a stupid wreath on the door, but I'm going to try to hang onto this little guy until next Christmas and set him out for the season.

Ain't he cute?

P>

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!