Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:49 p.m. - Thursday, Oct. 31, 2002
Ms Leslie isn't as scary as before
I live in an apartment complex, along with maybe a couple hundred young military families, beginning white collar workers, and a few retired people who, like me, live on a limited and fixed income. Since we live so close, everyone tends to be friendly but a little aloof. We give each other a lot of space. Most social interaction comes as we wash and fold clothes in the laundry room, or nod to each other going back and forth to the huge garbage dumpster. We don�t, as far as I know, inflict ourselves on each other with surprise visits for coffee and gossip or a lot of useless talk standing around outside. At least as far as I know.

I�ve been well tolerated around here since I moved in a year and a half ago. People have been nice to me, but not exactly overbearing. Last Halloween I bought a couple of big sacks of candy, wanting to be ready for any of the small kids who live close by. I didn�t expect a lot, but I thought there�d be a few. I never told anyone, but I was disappointed that not a single child knocked on my door last year. I was, in fact, more than disappointed. I was kinda crushed.

This year, I didn�t get my hopes up. I�m visible around here. I know people see me, but I don�t always know what, if anything they think. Until now.

Tonight, I�m getting little kids at my door, demanding treats. I�m glad I thought at the last moment to buy a few little things just in case. I was really actually astonished when the first little ones, a tiny cheerleader and a princess, came knocking. As I dropped a candy bar into each bag, I looked up to see their young mom standing just outside the light with�.. a smile! And within a few moments came a little football player, and then a devil and an angel. It�s becoming obvious that the young moms who live all around me are feeling comfortable with me in their midst.

They are telling me so tonight in a very special way. And now I have to stop writing about it because I�m crying and I don�t want to have tears if and when the next batch of spooks and fairies turn up.

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!