Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

4:36 a.m. - Thursday, Jul. 11, 2002
Ms Leslie Stitches Crossly
Oh I think I�m getting the hang of cross-stitching. After almost a week of stitching and un-stitching, I�ve just finished using up eighteen inches of thread. Most of it in the last two hours. There is, now, in the middle of my frame, the pale blue beginnings of the belly of a teddy bear.

It didn�t hurt anything, I admit, that I finally found a pair of bifocals that allowed me to actually see those little crosses of thread. They were laying buried under the stack of unpaid bills and unread junk mail on my counter. Before that, I was using a magnifying glass. Hand held. I would poke the needle into the fabric approximately where I thought it should go and then grab my glass and peer through it to see if I was right. Since I couldn�t hold the frame, needle and glass all in two hands, I was forced to put the glass down and take another fuzzy stab, one after the other until I finally got it blindly right. Seeing is easier.

I may have gotten it just in time. Maybe cross stitch will be my salvation. I can�t eat sunflower seeds any more. My tongue is so swollen and sore I can barely talk. And I really have to stop anyway. I�m starting to panic about my weight. But I notice that I can lose myself for a minute or two at a time in cross stitching. While I�m doing it, I�m neither eating or smoking. I�m only lathering myself into such frustration I feel like slashing my own throat but hey�. At least I�ll bleed out of this world as a non-smoker, eh?

I went with Ann and the boys to see Men in Black after a fancy lunch at a Choice restaurant. Yeah... the Choice Grocery store where I shop has a salad bar, sandwich bar and some hot food along with a few tables and a TV where shoppers who aren't too fussy about taste or bacteria control can take a break from tomato squeezing and grape-snitching. I'm nothing if not extravagant.

Men in Black was better than I expected. There was nothing especially new.. pretty much more of the same from MIB I. But still funny. Don't even ask why the explosions and violence against aliens is OK, while against cops and robbers it's not. All I can think of is that the former just isn't so real.

The only other exciting news I can think of for yesterday is that I did all my ironing and put my laundry away on the first day, instead of pushing it off the bed and onto the floor so I could sleep. But honestly, while this may be exciting for me, I think it might a signal that I�ve depleted any interest anyone else might have in my life. When I get down to describing my ironing, it�s time to stop writing for the day.

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!