Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

5:12 a.m. - Saturday, Jul. 06, 2002
Ms Leslie has the legs of an eighty-year-old bodybuilder
I had my weekly hair appointment with Sherrie yesterday. I went in with my hair in a twist, secured by bobby pins so I could show her like a proud child that I have begun to master bobby pins.

I can drive a semi, load a tank barge without breaking it in two, and work a small boat in high winds and freezing spray. I can fix anything, from electrical to plumbing, train a dog to play dead and even coax a bloom out of my hibiscus plant. Give me a book and a pair of nail clippers and I can rebuild an automatic transmission. But I�ll be damned if I can understand how a bobby pin can hold a coil of hair in place for more than a minute. I�ve spent hours on this. I even looked on the internet to see if I could find instructions but apparently this is something so simple it needs no explanation to any but the most severely handicapped. That would be me.

Afterwards I stopped into the plus-sized clothing store to see if they had anything with short sleeves that would be cool enough to wear in Thailand without being sleeveless. I understand that sleeveless blouses are kind of frowned on by the conservative Buddhist culture there. And yet I see pictures of Thailand and they�re always dotted with bare-armed beauties wearing not much besides tank-tops with spaghetti straps. Oh well� I�m old and a foreigner. Better safe than stupid. Anyway, the store clerk hadn�t seen me before. She kind of hovered nearby as I picked out three blouses I thought I�d like to try on and then she followed me halfway to the dressing room; unsure, I think, about what to do with me. I was wearing shorts and as she walked behind me, she made a comment about how muscular my legs were. So once I was in the dressing room, I looked at the calves of my legs in the mirror. Good grief! I hadn�t noticed it before, but my legs are like some kind of ancient Charles Atlas legs. All the pedal pumping on my air bike has given me these huge leg muscles that bulge and ripple when I walk. Strong and healthy, yes� feminine.. not in the least. Now I�m not sure what to do about it. I need the exercise to be healthy and lose weight, but I don�t want these monster legs. Maybe if I ride longer but don�t push so hard to increase my average speed. Or maybe I�m just destined to wear long pants and dresses forever.

Laura wanted to know what I could eat for snacks tonight. I made her shop for tomatoes, which she and James both hate, and then turned on the light this morning to see and remember that I bought a sackful of them at the store myself yesterday. Now I have to eat mine so they don�t spoil and eat hers so they don�t spoil either. It sure is a good thing I like �em. Speaking of which, I guess I need to get moving. I have a lot of stuff to do before I leave for BR around noon. I fell asleep yesterday afternoon and was surprised to have slept all night until six a.m. I got up, made coffee and sat down to check my weight chart and get ready to do my exercises. When I saw that the date on my computer was still the fifth of July, I couldn�t figure out why. I thought it must be broken. In fact, it wasn�t until I opened a blind and looked out to see that the sun was in the west that I realized I had slept until 6 p.m., not 6 a.m. The computer said July fifth because it was still July the fifth. I hate it when I lose track.

But now it�s 5:00 for real. Time to get started.

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!