Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:12 a.m. - Sunday, Feb. 10, 2002
Ms Leslie nibbles on raw fish
The GGA meeting was nice, as usual. The oilers of Winn-Dixie fame renewed their wedding vows after 25 years of marriage. It was very sweet... and the there was cake! I also picked up an armload of wigs for Crissy's cancer patients. Now it's going to cost a bundle to get them mailed to her, butit's for a good cause.

I stopped before the meeting in a little hole-in-the wall Japanese all-you-can-eat buffet that Lynn suggested. I've never seen a Japanese buffet before. It wsa really good. The long beffet line was loaded with sushi made from tentacles, eggs and bits of gelatinous uncooked body parts of every kind of critter you can imagine. Dipped in soy sauce with a dab of wasabi paste, they were tasty indeed. I just didn't care for eating alone. It would have been fun to share with another person.

I'm still not sure GGA is for me. It's pleasant, but it costs fifteen dollars to attend. That bleeds some of the pleasantness back out of the experience. And because my sleeping is so messed up, I get incredibly sleepy on the drive back to Gulfport. I'm a bad enough driver as it is and I don't see as well at night as I need to either. The last thing I need are these little mini-naps behind the wheel at 75 miles an hour. Somehow, it just doesn't seem worth it.

I guess there's another thing too. I want to socialize and meet people, but I want to do it with your average, everyday ordinary people. You know... the ones who are least likely to be comfortable and accepting of me. After all this time, why should I start doing things the easy way now?

I promised Carol, Craig's sister that I wouldn't divulge the contents of our private correspondence.. and I won't. But I think I am safe mentioning that we are in the midst of an intensive process of getting to know each other. At first, it was only about Craig. Now it's gotten to be more about us. She's an interesting and complex person.

We're different in many ways, but the same in some important other ways. She's had some amazing twists and turns in her life and I am having a ball hearing of them.

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!