Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:03 p.m. - Monday, Sept. 08, 2003
Explanation of the layout
(Carla Here)

After playing around with ideas all day long, I was seriously stuck. Nothing seemed good enough for thihs site or the wonderful woman that runs it. I cancelled several emails to Leslie because I didn't want her to think she was putting me out. I just couldn't think of anything good enough. So, after hashing out ideas with Sillers all day long, I finally thought about the tattoo on the back of her neck, which is the Japanese symbol for change. The red is a filler color because black, grey, and white are too drab for this diary, but the original color scheme was taken from something Leslie said in one of her letters to luvabeans about life having so many grey areas.

As for the Japanese woman, I don't know exactly where she came from but she was out of a tube collection for paint shop pro. I coincidentally picked her up two days ago, and since the site was looking pretty plain, I stuck her over to the right. I like that she's sewing. She's creating something, just as Leslie is creating a new life for herself.

At first glimpse, it might not all make sense, but everything in this layout is a symbol for the way Leslie has changed and become herself after so long.

The honorary ts stuff has been removed, per Leslie's request, but the ring is still there under "Extras" along with the other links. The "hugged Ms Leslie" stuff has it's own page now and the link can be found at the bottom of this scroll box. Contact also has it's own page where notes, book, and email can be found, but the comments are at the bottom of the entries.

The kind of courage Leslie has is the kind I only wish I had. She is amazing and I'm a better person for clicking on that banner a year ago.

Before I hand the keys back, I'd just like to say thank you, Leslie. You're very dear to me and you've made more of an impact on my life than you will ever know.

I only wish I could pay you, my "sister", back with more than this, but this layout is dedicated to you with my utmost appreciation and thanks.

Here are the keys to your diary, Leslie. I hope you like it.

4 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!