Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

- Wednesday, Sep 10, 2003
Symbols

The symbol in the background is the symbol for wisdom. It�s the sum of knowledge and understanding, and it�s the mother, I think, of true courage, honesty and integrity, for the person with wisdom knows that those things are necessary for love of self and others.

The young women in the kimonos are images of my first real cross-stitch project. I began working on it before I left for Thailand for the first and most important of my surgeries. I took it overseas with me and worked on it almost to the very moment I was taken to the operating theater. The women, or woman, actually, as it is just a flipped image of the one admires a cherry blossom, the ancient symbol of spring and re-birth. I finished the pattern after I returned from my own re-birth. It hangs on my wall now, and is an important link for me with a past life that�s becoming ever more remote.

My layout isn�t finished. That�s as it should be, for I am not finished either. I hope to add a very personal montage of some of the things of daily importance in my life. My intention is to add to that montage from time to time, like a history quilt of days gone by. In that regard, my layout won�t be finished until my death-day. After that, it may linger on for a few weeks or months and then, like me, it�ll fade back into the oblivion from whence it came. In the meantime, it�s finished enough to begin using. And I�d like to begin its use by thanking me-me-meee for being the catalyst and the true talent and imagination behind my new look. She made it look so deceptively easy, I thought I could do itmyself� which I found I couldn�t.

Happy Thoughts, Deep Breaths,

5 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!