Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:17 a.m. - Thursday, May. 08, 2003
Ms Leslie's van needs a good home

I want to dispose of my old van. Since I don�t especially care about getting money our of her, I have lots of options.

I can do my own kind of auction. I can advertise her for a thousand dollars to start with and then reduce the price every Sunday by ten percent (like tithing, eh?) until someone jumps on it with the cash.

I can sell it to one of those scrap dealers who will come get it and pay fifty bucks for the privilege.

I can donate it to the Salvation Army, even though they would never hire me or any person they perceived as gay, lesbian or bisexual.

Or I can give it to a friend.

That would be you.

I want to give you first crack at it.

It�s a 1982 Chevy G20 conversion van. It has:

- A rebuilt engine professionally installed two years ago. There are less than 20,000 miles on the engine.

- Almost new Goodyear tires on custom mag rims

- A professionally installed trailer towing receiver

- Almost new alternator, starter, battery, cooling fan clutch hub, shocks, ignition wiring and brake master cylinder.

- New oil pressure sending unit

It also has a short that affects the oil pressure indicator light, the choke indicator light, and recently, the charging system. The battery can�t keep a charge unless it�s disconnected. While running, the charging system still works, but at a reduced capacity.

Whoever finds and fixes the short in the wiring will have a pretty good old van that�s strong enough to pull most any trailer and reliable enough to drive across the country�. Minus air conditioning, which is there, but non-operational.

For the next 24 hours, or however long this entry is visible in my diary, I�m offering this van free of charge to the first reader who is close enough and wishes to come to Gulfport, MS to take it away. All you need to do is e-mail me, expressing your interest and telling me when you can come and take it away. I�ll respond to your e-mail with a request for your mailing address, to which I will mail the location of the van and my home telephone number. I find stalkers, thugs and other loonies are much subdued when they lose their anonymity. Real people don�t mind exchanging addresses and phone numbers.

I�ll be leaving on Monday for another quick road trip, but I�ll be home by the 17th, and available to sign the title and hand the keys over to you. Just let me know, OK?

Happy Thoughts, Deep Breaths,

Coming Soon:

More about Altoona

A Day in Luray

Driving in the fellership of Jeezus

8 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!