Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:26 a.m. - Monday, Apr. 28, 2003
Help Wanted

Help Wanted: Former Iraqui �Handlers�

Three required. One to specialize in seeing that I don�t allow my prescriptions to run out and that I take my medicine as prescribed. Second to monitor the state of my home and prod me without mercy to do housework and laundry tasks per schedule. Third handler to supervise the other two, as well as to attack me suddenly from behind and with great enthusiasm each time I put my hand on the refrigerator or dial to order pizza.

Cleanliness a must. Showers required, no Baaths allowed. Salary dependant on loyalty and commitment, and how quickly the applicant surrenders at the first sign of difficulty. Dress Code casual, excluding military uniforms or berets. Must be clean shaven. Thick, dark mustaches not allowed.

Apply in person ASAP. You no doubt need the money and a place to stay and I obviously am unable to control myself in the three areas mentioned.

I�ve booked a room in Altoona, PA for the night of 5/1. I�m planning to spend the evening having a HTDB meal and then the following morning, I hope to see the famous Altoona railroad museum and U-turn. I hear it�s really very exciting.

I don�t have plans beyond 5/2. I�ve learned I�m supposed to go to Michigan to bring Ann home from her daughter�s house sometime this month, so I may be meandering north instead of south. I guess it all depends.

My face still hurts. Parts of it are numb and other parts are sore and swollen. It reminds me a little of coming into the house with a frozen face and ears. How it hurts when it all starts to thaw out. My lower eyelids are pulled down by the scar underneath, so they sometimes droop like a hound-dog�s eyes. I�m to massage those scars and in the meantime, tape my eyelids up whenever I�m not going to be going out much. Hopefully, the scars will soften and allow my eyelids to close again. Sometimes, you know, it�s really hard to have faith.

Anyway, I just hope I�m up to making this long drive and that I can get through it without scaring anyone. The good news is that my forehead scar is looking better everyday. It�s easy to hide, but soon I think it won�t even show.

I don�t own a laptop, and the price of this new used car makes me officially destitute, at least for the near future, so I won�t be writing in my diary after I leave here, until I get home again. It�s funny�. I think it was easier to get on the internet in Thailand than it will be in America. I could be wrong. Maybe the hotel will have a public computer, but somehow I doubt it. I won�t be gone long though. I think.

3 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!