Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:29 p.m. - Wednesday, Feb. 19, 2003
A Ghost from Valdez
I found this entry in my guestbook today:

leslie, i wont pretend to fully understand what you have done i will say that i considered you a good person and friend before when we worked together, and i still consider you a good person and friend now the biggest thing is, are you happy with what you have done, if so, and from what i have read you are then i am happy for you

from jim

I had heard that Valdez has discovered my diary and I�ve seen an increase in hits from Valdez and Anchorage to my page. But I never thought anyone from that past life would think to write me. I was wrong.

Jim and I were among the very first to be hired by the oil companies as part of the new oil-spill prevention and response team put into place after the Exxon Valdez spill. His security badge number was 001. Mine was 003. We had some adventures right from the first day, some of which neither of us was ever able to live down on that job.

With apologies to Jim, I have to say that of all the people I would have guessed wouldn�t understand.. or even try to understand� my transsexuality, he would have been high on the list. Again I was wrong. So this entry is mostly a private thank you to Jim. I know it�s a hard concept, especially since you knew me only as a man. All I can say is, I was trying as hard as I could.

Jim, I wish you could know me now. I am really a lot happier, though I still have my struggles. It�s sometimes hard to live this way. It�s hard knowing I hurt a lot of people who were depending on me to always be what I seemed to be. But as hard as it is, it�s still a lot easier than the way I used to live. You had a chance to see me at my absolute bottom, I think. Now I am on the way up.

I hope you are happy too. I�m really glad to hear from you and I�d be delighted if you�d write and tell me how things are going with you. My e-mail address is

[email protected]

Thanks so much for having the consideration, or should I say courage, to leave your comments for me. I truly do appreciate your wish for my happiness.

1 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!