Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:02 a.m. - Monday, Feb. 10, 2003
Ms Leslie Looks Ahead
Happy News!

I had such a wonderful time talking to those college students last November. Do you remember? Well, I wondered if I would still be here when the next panel discussion came along. I was told yesterday that there is another discussion next month, just ten days before I leave for Thailand for my facial surgery, and I�m invited!

I also have a couple of firsts scheduled for this week. My first pelvic exam not counting all the poking and prodding involved in the fabrication of my vagina, and my first ever mammogram. The funny thing about all this is that my care is being provided by the VA. They are not allowed by congressional law to provide what they term �gender alteration�, even when that alteration is medically prescribed and appropriate. So I had to do it on my own. But now, having �altered� my own gender, the VA has transferred me to the women�s clinic and is providing those services that are appropriate for a woman. Plus�� the doctor made me submit to a manual (blush) prostate exam. You should have seen the look on the nurse�s face in the women�s clinic when the doctor called her in to audit the exam. It was, from all indications, something she was not used to seeing in that exam room; a middle aged woman with her panties around her ankles, bending over the table while the doctor greased up her fingers. Go figure.

Oh, and the heart murmur my Biloxi doctor detected wasn�t found on the EKG or Echocardiogram, nor was it heard by my New Orleans Doctor. In spite of all the smoking, overeating, drugs, drinking (but hey!�. very little sex) and other abuse I�ve dealt to myself, I still have the heart and circulation of a teenager. Well, except for the cholesterol. I�m afraid they caught me just at the end of a pretty ugly butter binge.

So.. life is good for the moment. My Prozac dose is doubled and I�ve got a new prescription for phentermine� diet pills to fill in the blank spots in my willpower. This oughta be a good week. Cross your fingers for me ok?

7 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!