Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:41 a.m. - Sunday, Jan. 26, 2003
Ms Leslie Gets a (ughh!) Conscience
I have to take myself out of the top one hundred diaries list. I really hate to do it. I�m so pleased that people have voted me into the number two spot and kept me there. It feels just like chocolate.

But I can�t ignore the banner ads the site is running.

It�s not this one, even though I think a lot of people find it offensive:

I, to tell the truth, would rather see this kind of stuff than the violence and glorification of violence we see everywhere we turn. Sex beats violence every time as far as I�m concerned. It�s just too bad they don�t give the guys equal time in these ads.

It�s this one that gets me:

This young lady turns up about fifty percent of the time. How old would you say she is?

Very, very few things do I find icky. But portraying this girl as an alluring image and all sexy and all, is �way high on my icky list.

It could well be that she�s over eighteen. She could be 30 for all I know, but she �appears� to be much younger� shall we say, about 12 to 14? And I just can�t stomach it any longer, to be associated with a website that would place this ad up for view.

And then, just in case we might argue that I�m reading something into the ad that�s there only in my own mind, I submit this one, which shows up most of the rest of the time.

Everything I just said about the other one applies equally here, don�t you think?

So don�t vote for me anymore please. I�ll be mucking around with my template, learning how to take the cute little vote button down, and by the time you read this, I probably have already deleted my listing on topsites. It was fun, but I just can�t feel good about myself if I encourage people to click on that link, thereby making a penny or two for the topsites owner and helping the banner advertiser pander to pederasts or those who may be so inclined.

I�ll try to think of something funny to write about tomorrow.

Thank you all so much for the votes you gave me. If a different site ever turns up that isn�t quite so thoughtless, I�ll be there playing the game again. In the meantime, well�. comments are always nice ; )

3 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!