Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:24 a.m. - Wednesday, Jan. 15, 2003
Ms Leslie has a \"special\" Fan!
Well�.. I had e decided that I wouldn�t fall into the trap of trying to respond to detractors but since WTF (aka MIA) is pretty much my first one, I find myself with some thoughts in connection with the situation.

There�s nothing very interesting about the comments themselves (see my guestbook). The comment about my not having balls is a little humorous though. Like��.. duh!�. when did I ever want balls?

Only slightly more interesting is the fact that the person who accuses me of having no courage e.g. �balls� is the same one who supposes he could hide behind the anonymity of his computer screen. He�s obviously too young and inexperienced to realize that his comments always come accompanied by his IP address, namely 151.138.254.21 It�s kind of unusual� the IP is always exactly the same.

I won�t disclose what that number reveals, or what I know about him to date, but a quick search of the ARIN WHOIS database and a web search on that IP address will get anyone started in the right direction.

But what really stirs me to even mention WTF is my curiosity about what it is about me that�s so threatening to someone that they would feel compelled to make repeated attacks on me, even verbally.

It might be my first instinct to think it was because I am transsexual. After all, that�s what he seems to be attacking. Is there something about the fact that I rejected the male role assigned to me by the people around me? How does that affect others.. even those who have never seen me and don�t know me?

The fact is, I�ve never been the subject of an overt attack by anyone based on my transsexuality. On the contrary, I�ve met with nothing but acceptance and understanding� at least to my face. I am aware of a short discussion on a discussion board about me, but even there, I noticed that someone went to a great deal of trouble to explain what transsexuality and intersexuality were. The discussion ended rather well, I thought� and with no input at all from me.

I have been attacked, however, as have many others for my decision to willingly reject the dogma of the mormon church. When someone does that, and especially if they are vocal about it, the remaining believing members of that church become unreasonably malicious. Again, I�m not sure why, exactly, but I CAN understand how it can be a little more threatening to know that someone has thought through and examined beliefs that you hold as truths and rejected them. That can be seen as a little more personal.

So I�m thinking that WTF is probably more angry at me for excluding myself from the LDS church than he is for excluding myself from my assigned gender role. Either way, I�d like to offer my whole-hearted and sincere apology to him for any offense I might have caused. It was never anything personal. I respect his right to believe as he chooses. I respect his right to whatever his gender, sex and sexual orientation he feels is right.

The only thing I ask in return is his courtesy as a visitor to my site. The only thing I demand is my right to exist.

Now� as a veteran of many flame wars and much online silliness, I�m not going to respond to further comments by this person, and I�d appreciate it very much if y�all who read this don�t respond either. It�s beneath you. I keep a log of visitors and if and when the time seems right, I know how to protect myself.

But hey� here�s an idea! If you want to show your support for my and your utter disdain for those who would anonymously attack anyone else like WTF has here.. then vote for me on the 100 top diaries! Honestly�. I can�t help being gratified when I see where you all have put me there. It�s one of those things I could never do for myself. Thank you VERY much!

7 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!