Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:53 a.m. - Monday, Jan. 06, 2003
Shades of Gray
My boys are pissed.

When I putin my new bookcase, I thought it would be just grand to put Ornery�s tank on one of the shelves. It fits nicely and just looks sooo classy. But it meant a change for the fish. No longer could their two tanks be left side by side where they could see each other and spend hour after hour swimming at each other, posing and threatening; spreading their fins to show how big and macho they were. You know� guy stuff.

Now they�re apart. It�s breaking my heart to see them drooping around, spending lots of time just sitting on the bottoms of their respective tanks. In days past, they both watched for me. When I came to pick up their can of food, they would watch me through the glass with anticipation. Ornery would often jump at my fingers to attack the food I was about to sprinkle. Both fish often would just nibble it from my hand. Then they�d go back to threatening and harassing each other. Life was good. Today they hardly notice me. They both seem to have lost interest even in food. And they�re sure mad at me. They stay away from me, waiting for me to sprinkle the flakes on the water so they can come in and pick out the ones they want as they settle towards the bottom.

I would put them back together, but here�s the thing: Their old spot is on my small pass-thru breakfast bar. When the tanks are there, I can�t use the bar for anything else. Putting the tanks in their new locations has opened up a whole new feature of my apartment. I sure do hate to give it up.

So�.. I guess Ms Black/White will have to come up with some third alternative. How hard is that?

2 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!