Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:47 a.m. - Sunday, Dec. 01, 2002
Ms Leslie is tired of it too
This is day three of my commitment to watch no TV. I had planned to take my little set out of the apartment and put it in my storage unit but I�m cheating a little bit. Part of my post-surgical care required that I spend at least two hours each day laying down and doing some�. shall we say�. maintenance? So for that two hours, I�ve been laying on the futon in front of the TV, just kind of listening to the noise. Ann suggested I get some books on tape for that time, and I think that�s a good idea. The library has a ton of them. Too, I brought back a Thai for beginners course, which includes a set of tapes for help with pronunciation. Wouldn�t it be special if I could go back to Thailand and speak a few words of Thai?

I lived in Germany for a little over three years. While I was there, I made it a point to learn to speak German. I was amazed and gratified to see the difference in how I got along as a German speaker. It really did make a difference. If nothing else, people are just friendlier when they see that you�ve made an effort to learn the language. So.. instead of watching the same episodes of �Seinfeld� over and over, I might try carving some new grooves in the crusty gray matter on my brain.

Cosmicrayola got me started trying to learn again how to do some things with the html on my diary page. Since I�m not watching TV, I guess I have more time to fool around. I made the background on my page, for instance, match the background on my website. Pretty cool, huh? And now I�m looking at whatever the easiest way will be to add a picture or two to my daily entries occasionally. So this entry is really mostly a test of that.

First, since I can�t stop chuckling at it, here�s the picture from the front of a card that good old guess who sent me while I was in the hospital:

The card says (I cut the words from the front): �Hope your operation went well. And remember��� (inside) You�re entitled to have all the spare parts returned to you!

Which I didn�t, b y the way.

Then, for my next teat picture, here�s one I need to get into storage anyway. It�s the first known picture of yours truly:

Aww��� ain�t I cute?

Now I�ll see how these turn out. In the meantime, here�s perhaps the only thing a certain person could have said that would at once inspire me and gain my respect. It�s someone for whom I paid fifty dollars and a tank of gas not long ago, just for the privilege of watching him take an awful beating. He�s been a very bad person over the years. Cruel, ignorant, and a terrible bully. Spent time in prison for rape. When he got beat up, I couldn�t think of anyone who deserved it more. And now, just when I thought I could forget about him, I find myself liking the guy. I know�. I can�t believe it either. But he said something that resonated with me. Something that just makes so much sense, I want to say the same thing too:

I�m tired of being stupid����.

Iron Mike Tyson

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!