Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:31 a.m. - Wednesday, Nov. 27, 2002
Ms Leslie has a home cooked thanksgiving dinner..... sorta
Taking YOUR advice, I made it out today to find out about ordering thanksgiving dinner. I was a little too late at the grocery store close to me where I shop. They stopped taking orders yesterday. The next closest store, though, was still taking orders� kinda. The deli manager told the clerk not to take any more orders after mine. I got the last one in.

For a measly thirty bucks, I�m having a ten lb cajun fried turkey (hey, they�re good), along with seasoned mashed potatoes, gravy, dressing, green bean casserole, dinner rolls and a sweet potato pie. Theres� something else too, but the paper is out in the van and I don�t want to go out and look. Anyway� thirty bucks. If I drink Margaritas, it costs more than that to take Ann to lunch at Three Amigos. I don�t know why everybody doesn�t just order their dinner. Well� yes I do. Tradition and kitchen smells, etc. I say screw that.

In the spirit of gluttony, I plan to augment the standard dinner with fruit cups, ambrosia salad, canned corn, cranberry sauce and whatever else comes to mind and is easy. I�ve already bought everything I need, I think.

I�ll pick Deana up in the morning on Thursday. On the way to my apt, we can pick up the food, which should be reasonably warm. I think it makes more sense to eat while it�s hot and then go to the cemetery to see her dad after dinner. I�ll save dessert for comfort food afterwards, along with coffee. No booze for me and no beer for her. That gets too ugly. I�m getting enough food for eight to ten people� did I mention it�s only thirty bucks? So there�s be puhlentee of leftovers to share. All in all, not a perfect family feast, but close enough. I haven�t decided for sure, but I think I�m going to set extra plates to honor Craig and Deana�s dad. Nice touch, eh?

Tomorrow, I�ll vacuum and dust. The apartment is already pretty clean. Then I�ll try to arrange things to make room for my little kitchen table to go in the living room, thereby creating a living/dining room. I don�t have any tablecloths, but I have a pretty bedsheet. It has moons and stars on it. I�ll call it a Harry Potter Thanksgiving. I�m going to buy a handful of flowers and give them to Deana to put on her dad�s grave. I think I�ll get a small basket of fresh flowers for a centerpiece too. They�re ten dollars or less. And then, since I have a few extra, I might set a couple of small teddy bears by the flowers and give her one when it�s time to go home. Um�. Harry Potter meets Yogi and Boo Boo? Who knows? The whole thing will be about as pulled together as the rest of my life. Why worry?

After T�day, I�m thinking of taking my little TV out of my apt. I might take it to my storage unit. You can�t believe how I am eating, but I bet you�ll believe WHERE I�m eating. It occurred to me the other day that if I can�t stop eating, I can at least stop creating the conditions under which I eat so much. The two things that make it tolerable for me to stay cooped up here in my little lair are the TV and this computer. I spend gobs of time with both, but I only eat while watching TV,,, and I use the term watching very loosely. I�m not watching at all. I�m just vegetating. I think I can live without it. I repeat: I think I can LIVE without it.

OK. Well�.. if I don�t� see you before Thursday, have a great thanksgiving. Cook your bird thoroughly but try not to overcook it. Try not to fight with your relatives and remember, one team always has to lose the football game. It might as well be yours. I�ll see you later

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!