Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:23 a.m. - Tuesday, Feb. 26, 2002
Ms Leslie misses a meal

I�ve just spent some time answering questions on my website

( http://cableone.net/msleslie/questions.htm )

Now I�m not sure what to write in my diary.

I can report that we�ve finished grouting the floors in all the rooms that have had tile laid so far. I am amazingly good at spotting imperfections, such as a tile that�s a millimeter out of alignment, or a microscopic pinhole in the grout, which might let moisture get under the tile and cause it to come off. It occurred to me that I am so good at this because it�s the same way I�ve sealed off my own emotions for so long; burying them under layers of rigid tile and sealing them off from any hope of sunshine or rain. Doing that to floors is good. Doing it to myself is not.

Ann and I went to pottery class yesterday. I was gratified that, even though Ann slipped up and called me �he� once or twice, the other ladies seem oblivious to it and go right on referring to me as she. Apparently they simply can�t hear the word �he� in my case. Even when I feel I must look anything but feminine, I�m accepted as such and that�s all there is to it.

But other than feeling accepted, I didn�t have that great a time in class. I think I�m jealous that the other half of the class now gets to use the pottery wheels and I am left making dumb-looking teapots out of clay slabs. Plus, I was still pooped from the floor, and hungry, because Ann refused to stop at McDonald�s on the way to class to let me buy a junk breakfast. I even used the diabetic�s lament on her (�Oh� I am feeling dizzy. I think my blood sugar is low�), but she wasn�t buying. I�m still considering filing kidnapping charges against her for taking me away from McDonald�s against my will.

Oh.. and I got back some of my pots, all glazed and shiny. One small vase, I really like.. and my soap dish too, which got a lot of compliments from the other students. The other things are.. well� I can use them to hold paper clips or something.

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!