Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:46 p.m. - 2002-01-29
Is it a potter.... or someone's daughter?
OK Let's see here..... Pottery class; it was fine. There are about ten students, mostly retired women and housewives. Everyone was friendly and we talked as we worked on making basic clay pots. What makes it so remarkable is that it was unremarkable.

I kind of wanted to make an initial statement, I guess, so that no one would have any confusion over my gender, so I wore a casual denim dress to class. I was the only one in a dress. eveyone else had more sense. We sat at folding tables set in a large square. There were no privacy panels. After nearly three hours at that table, my legs were aching from keeping them so tightly closed. You could have cracked a hickory nut between my knees. Aside from the young instructor, there was only one guy there, and he sat across from me. It kept me honest about how I sat while I worked.

And my nails were, of course, way too long. I wasn't the onlh one with this problem, but I certainly had the longest nails.... and the reddest. No one keeps polish on their nails anymore. I think it's kind of sad. My neighbor said she liked my color though.

On Thursday, I'll go in with pants and short nails.. but I am going to keep the polish. I like it. Anyway, on Thursday I can start thinking more about making pots and less about making sure everyone understands that I'm a woman. I think it'll be a good class.

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!